Releases

Search Folklore

Onslaught Of Steel Review - Oct 2013

Onslaught Of Steel Review - Oct 2013

http://onslaughtofsteel.blogspot.co.uk/2013/10/review-old-corpse-road-tis-witching.html

Black Metal, as I've frequently stated, is a massively overcrowded sub-genre of metal. For every band there is playing Black Metal with passion and true identity in their music, there seems to be another five bands simply jumping on the bandwagon. The UK Black Metal scene is one that has sometimes piqued my interest but has also proven to have it's share of identikit bands.

Old Corpse Road are, I'm glad to say, part of the solution rather than the problem.

Read more: Onslaught Of Steel Review - Oct 2013

No Clean Singing Review - July 2013

No Clean Singing Review - July 2013

 http://www.nocleansinging.com/2013/07/01/old-corpse-road-tis-witching-hour-as-spectres-we-haunt-this-kingdom/

(In this post, Andy Synn reviews the debut album by Old Corpse Road.)

We’ve only mentioned Old Corpse Road in passing before at NCS, but (for various reasons) never got round to giving them their due. I’m hoping to rectify that though, because ’Tis Witching Hour… is a prime example of the lavish creativity and complexity one can find amidst the swirling murk of the UK black metal scene.

Released at the tail-end of last year, the band’s first full-length release is a bombastic, unapologetic display of gothic grandiosity, folk-ish eccentricity, and black metal ferocity.

Read more: No Clean Singing Review - July 2013

Psychozine Review - May 2013

Psychozine Review - May 2013

 http://www.psychozine.eu/modules.php?name=Reviews&rop=showcontent&id=3062

Ten brytyjski zespół raczej nie jest szerzej znany na naszym krajowym rynku. Brytole mają w swoim dorobku demówkę, split z „cultowym” The Meads of Asphodel ( wydana w 2010 roku ), teraz przychodzi zmierzyć się im z debiutem. Został on wydany przez Godreah Records ( ten sam label co wydał wspomniany wcześniej split ).
Na „Tis Witching Hour...” usłyszymy dziesięć kompozycji, trwających prawie godzinę.
Nie sposób jednoznacznie sklasyfikować gatunku jaki gra Old Corpse Road, jest to na pewno black metal, jednak z bardzo szerokim spektrum stylistycznym. W niektórych kompozycjach czujemy ducha, bardzo pierwotnego, dzikiego black metalu, w innych słychać zapożyczenia do folk metalu w kolejnych mocnego brutalnego i szybkiego death metalu.

Read more: Psychozine Review - May 2013

Hellbound.ca Review - May 2013

Hellbound.ca Review - May 2013

 http://www.hellbound.ca/2013/05/old-corpse-road-tis-witching-houras-spectres-we-haunt-this-kingdom/

By Steve Earles

Having been involved in the underground for a long time, I’ve encountered so many bad generic bands (ironically, as the music business implodes, and we reach the stage where no new band can hope to make even an existence never mind a living from their music, we find ourselves inundated with a tsunami of truly awful bands), when I first encountered Old Corpse Road, they were a breath of fresh air, I wrote that they had ‘all the strengths of black metal and none of it’s weaknesses’, something that is so evident on their debut full-length album (following a very well-received demo and a split album with British underground legends The Meads of Asphodel).

Read more: Hellbound.ca Review - May 2013

Sea of Tranquility Review - Apr 2013

Sea of Tranquility Review - Apr 2013

http://www.seaoftranquility.org/reviews.php?op=showcontent&id=14433


I suppose the name of the band, Old Corpse Road, and album title, 'Tis Witching Hour…As Spectres we Haunt this Kingdom, it is relatively easy to discern where this band is coming from. Symphonic black metal is the name of the game and the band does it quite well.

Read more: Sea of Tranquility Review - Apr 2013

VS Webzine Review - March 2013

VS Webzine Review - March 2013

 http://www.vs-webzine.com/chronique-OLD_CORPSE_ROAD-%27Tis_Witching_Hour..._As_Spectres_We_Haunt_This_Kingdom-14045.html

Aujowd’hui, nous allons pawler d’un gwoupe twès bwitish (prenez un accent de Jolithorax pour lire cette phrase). OLD CORPSE ROAD est un groupe anglais existant depuis 2007 qui a en effet décidé de se consacrer assez largement au folklore et aux légendes britanniques. L’accent « anglais » est donc bien mis en place chez ce groupe, jusque dans les parties de chant récité. Et la musique va légèrement suivre ce concept. Avec sa première démo, The Echoes Of Tales Once Told, OLD CORPSE ROAD pratiquait un Black symphonique légèrement médiéval, et un tout petit peu avant-gardiste, dans la même cour que leurs compatriotes de THE MEADS OF ASHPODEL. Ça tombe bien vu que l’année suivante, les deux groupes partageront un split (The Bones Of This Land Are Not Speechless / English Black Punk Metal). OLD CORPSE ROAD aura donc eu l’occasion d’évoluer à sa manière, penchant un peu vers un black folkisant et atmosphérique. Et après une participation au tribute à BATHORY (Voices From Valhalla) en reprenant "Equimanthorn", le quintette british va désormais pouvoir jouir de sa reconnaissance grandissante avec son premier album full-length, ‘Tis Witching Hour… As Spectres We Haunt This Kingdom.

Read more: VS Webzine Review - March 2013

Schwermetall Review - Feb 2013

Schwermetall Review - Feb 2013

http://www.schwermetall.ch/cdkritiken/kritik4087.php

Old Corpse Road aus Britannien geben sich eine riskante Mische - Folk Black Metal. Warum man das Gedöns dann nicht einfach Viking Metal nennt entzieht sich beim ersten Eindruck meinem Geiste. Aber lassen wir uns doch einfach mal drauf ein.

Der Titeltrack entpuppt sich als vierminütiges Intro, dass neben Hintergrundgesäusel nur aus gesprochenem Wort besteht. Sehr öde für meinen Geschmack, vielleicht müsste man sich auf den Inhalt des Gesagten einlassen, das vermutlich eine gewisse Stimmung für die folgenden Tracks schaffen soll. Mache ich aber nicht.

Read more: Schwermetall Review - Feb 2013

Metal Hammer Review - Feb 2013

Metal Hammer Issue Feb 2013

Bleak Esoteric Tales from the Northern heartlands.

Is this BM? Folk metal? Is there any mileage in the fact that the band hail from the same English heartland as doom pioneers My Dying Bride and Paradise Lost?

Yet inspiring music is more about talent and intent than genre or style, and OCR are consumate storytellers, with timeless tales of the fecund darkness that lurks beneath the surface of England's green and pleasant land.

Arcane traditions of revenance and witches, once kept alive around log fires, can now resonate compellingly through speakers. There are metal precedents here, of course. Cradle of Filth are an obvious comparison, but so are the folkloric films from the golden age of British horror cinema such as 'Blood on Satan's Claw' and 'The Wickerman', or even the ghost stories of M.R. James. Perhaps the unifying factor is something shadowy and unique to the English soul... 'Tis Witching Hour... is wonderfully evocative, eerie and - above all - uniquely English.

The Bones of this land are no longer speechless.

Gavin Baddely - 9/10

Global Domination Review - Feb 2013

Global Domination Review - Feb 2013

http://www.globaldomination.se/stubs/old-corpse-road-tis-withing-hour-as-spectres-we-haunt-this-kingdom

If you don’t like Cradle of Filth you won’t like these guys, simple as that. The recording sounds like Cradle’s “The Principle of Evil Made Flesh” with better sound and even more relentless and brutal. There are spoken words with very cute British accent, gutturals, keyboards, blast-beats, cool riffs and some epic instrumental parts too.

Read more: Global Domination Review - Feb 2013

Zero Tolerance Review - Feb 2013

Zero Tolerance Review - Feb 2012

Magazine Issue #51

Having been exposed to the Old Corpse Road sound before it should have come as no surprise to me that their new effort should as before owe a great deal to The Principle of Evil Made Flesh era Cradle of Filth.

Read more: Zero Tolerance Review - Feb 2013

Loucifer Speaks Review - Jan 2013

http://louciferspeaks.com/2013/01/22/old-corpse-road-tis-witching-hour-as-spectres-we-haunt-this-kingdom/

Picture the scene: you’re walking through an ancient forest steeped in history somewhere in England, as dusk descends you approach a clearing and an arcane mist rolls over the horizon giving the view a ghostly atmosphere, cloaking it in mystery. A castle looms ahead ominously, beckoning you towards it… In a nutshell, this is Old Corpse Road’s debut album.

Read more: Loucifer Speaks Review - Jan 2013

Metal Archives Review - Jan 2013

Metal Archives Review - Jan 2013

http://www.metal-archives.com/reviews/Old_Corpse_Road/%27Tis_Witching_Hour..._As_Spectres_we_Haunt_this_Kingdom/357755/

UK Black Metal Just Got Even Better - 90%

After first discovering this band on their 2010 split with the The Meads Of Asphodel and then subsequently obtaining their 2009 demo and being suitably impressed I have every reason to believe that this, their debut full-length album, would be well worth the anticipation. Indeed this proverbial leap of faith has been rewarded as Old Corpse Road have done themselves proud.

Read more: Metal Archives Review - Jan 2013

This Is Not A Scene Review - Jan 2013

This Is Not A Scene Review - Jan 2013

http://www.thisisnotascene.com/2013/old-corpse-road-tis-witching-hour-as-spectres-we-haunt-this-kingdom/

The Foul Year of Our Lord 2012 proved to be a bumper year for British Black Metal with quality releases from the likes of Winterfylleth, Wodensthrone and Nine Covens amongst others. But the pine-scented blasts from the pasts of the Heathen movement aren’t all our fog-shrouded isle has to offer, and those still yearning for the days when Cradle of Filth and Hecate Enthroned spun devilishly diabolical tales of gothic romances over riffs to make your heart soar rather than sink would do well to check out the debut release from Old Corpse Road, a quintet of Northerners more interested in ghoulish tales of witchcraft than a rose-tinted Pagan past that never really existed.

Read more: This Is Not A Scene Review - Jan 2013

Blackened Horde Review - Jan 2013

Blackened Horde Review - Jan 2013

http://www.blackenedhorde.com/old_corpse_road_review

In the bands own words: “The Old Corpse Road was conceived during the autumn season of 2007 during a brief excursion to the Lake District, more specifically Haweswater. This Autumnal break, in celebration of the wondrous and powerful music that we all know as Black Metal, awoke our desire to share our musical passions with other like- minded people. The band name was taken from the road of the same name which rises out of the Haweswater valley and leads to Mardale.

Read more: Blackened Horde Review - Jan 2013